You make short films, social clips, or quick ads.
You want a cloud creative suite that generates and edits images and video from prompts and footage. There is a Free tier with 125 one-time credits and watermarked exports, and paid seats add monthly credits. By default your inputs and outputs may be used to train the models.
Who it's for
You make short films, social clips, or ad videos and want cloud tools to generate and edit images and video.
You will be disappointed if you need perfect photorealism or phoneme-level lipsync for final delivery.
Buy it if
- You produce quick social or marketing videos alone and need fast rough-to-polished edits in one web workspace.
- You want a single cloud tool to try image-to-video generation, quick scene edits, and simple exports without switching apps.
- You accept some visible artifacts in exchange for big time savings on editing and iteration.
Skip it if
- You need studio-grade photorealism and frame-accurate detail for broadcast commercials.
- You require phoneme-accurate lipsync or native audio that must match dialogue exactly.
- You cannot allow your project inputs to be used for model training or improvement.
Your first hour
You sign up from Runway’s signup page and can start on the free tier; Runway’s documentation does not state a card is required to begin.
- Create account Sign up on Runway’s signup page; the vendor does not state a card is required to start.
- Free credits The Free plan gives 125 one-time credits and 5GB of asset storage, per Runway’s pricing notes.
- Generate output You can run image-to-video or edit tools in the browser, but Free plan videos are watermarked.
- Credits and billing Paid tiers list monthly credits—Standard 625 and Pro 2250—and those monthly credits expire on the billing date.
The interface is approachable, but making clean, delivery-ready video usually takes practice across a few sessions.
What you actually get per plan
Runway starts with a Free plan that gives 125 one-time credits and 5GB storage. Paid plans charge per seat and include a monthly credit allotment. Monthly credits on paid plans expire on your billing date. Purchased extra credits never expire and have a 1,000-credit minimum. Most freelancers and solo creators here will end up on Standard or Pro to get regular monthly credits and export options.
| Plan | Price | What’s inside | Catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | 125 one-time credits, 5GB storage, watermarked generations | Watermarked; no extra credits on tier |
| Standard | $12/month (billed annually) | 625 credits/month, up to 5 seats, 100GB storage | Annual billing for that price |
| Pro | $28/month (billed annually) | 2250 credits/month, up to 10 seats, 500GB storage | Annual billing for that price |
| Max | $76/month (billed annually) | 9500 credits/month, up to 10 seats, up to one month credit roll-over | Annual billing for that price |
The Free plan gives 125 one-time credits, 5GB storage, and watermarked video, and you cannot buy extra credits.
Three real situations
Three realistic ways people on this site actually use Runway.
A freelance video editor with three retainer clients
On Standard ($12/month billed annually) they get 625 credits per month and can generate quick scene edits and drafts.
A two-person Shopify store
They need weekly product clips, and the Free plan’s 125 one-time credits produce watermarked video, so they buy Standard.
A solo filmmaker pre-launch
They need photorealism and frame-accurate detail; they would likely need Max ($76/month billed annually) and 9500 credits.
For final delivery hire a compositor or use Sora 2 Pro instead.
Where it falls short
Reviewers report that Runway’s video output can show glitches and inconsistency. Gen-4.5 “struggles to hold detail” in close shots, reviewers say. Several notes say Runway “treats audio as a separate step”, so phoneme-accurate lipsync lags behind Veo 3.1. Some reviewers note raw fidelity sometimes “trails behind” Kling and Hailuo.
Pricing and policy create practical traps for small buyers. Listed plan prices often require annual billing. Monthly credits expire on the billing date, and buying extra has a 1,000-credit minimum. The Free plan cannot buy extra credits and runs watermarked generations, which hurts one-off creators. All fees are generally non-refundable, and cancelling keeps the plan active until the period ends. Most important, Inputs and Outputs may be used to train and improve Runway’s models.
Watch out: By default you grant Runway a broad license to use your Inputs and Outputs for training and model improvement.
Common questions
Is there a free plan?
Yes, the Free plan gives 125 one-time credits, 5GB storage, and watermarked generations.
Can I cancel any time?
Yes; cancel from the billing page and your subscription remains active until the end of the current billing period.
Can I get a refund?
Fees are generally non-refundable, but Runway may grant refunds within 30 days for unused subscriptions or unused credits.
Does Runway train models on my data?
Yes; by default Inputs and Outputs may be used to train and improve Runway’s models and you grant Runway a broad license.
What is the cheapest way to try it?
Start on the Free plan to try tools with 125 one-time credits and watermarked video.
Bottom line
Buy it if you need fast cloud tools for rough-to-polished social clips and edits.
Start on the Free plan to experiment, then move to Standard at $12/month billed annually for steady monthly credits.
Skip it if you need studio photorealism, frame-accurate detail, or phoneme-level lipsync.




